William Stanley Merwin (born 30 September 1927 ) is an American poet. He made a name for himself as an anti-war poet during the 1960s. Later, he would evolve toward mythological themes and develop a unique prosody characterized by indirect narration and the absence of punctuation. In the 80s and 90s, Merwin's interest in Buddhist philosophy and deep ecology also influenced his writing. He continues to write prolifically, though he also dedicates significant time to the restoration of rainforests in Hawaii, where he currently resides.

Merwin has received many honors, including the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry (in both 1971 and 2009) and the Tanning Prize, one of the highest honors bestowed by the Academy of American Poets, as well as the Golden Wreath of the Struga Poetry Evenings.

In 1952 Merwin's first book of poetry, A Mask for Janus, was published in the Yale Younger Poets Series. W. H. Auden selected the work for that distinction. Later, in 1971 Auden and Merwin would exchange harsh words in the pages of The New York Review of Books. Merwin had published "On Being Awarded the Pulitzer Prize" in the June 3, 1971 issue of The New York Review of Books outlining his objections to the Vietnam War and stating that he was donating his prize money to the draft resistance movement. Auden responded in his letter "Saying No" published in the July 1, 1971 issue stating that the Pulitzer Prize jury was not a political body with any ties to the American foreign policy.

From 1956 to 1957 Merwin was also playwright-in-residence at the Poet's Theatre in Cambridge, Massachusetts; he became poetry editor at The Nation in 1962. Besides being a prolific poet (he has published over fifteen volumes of his works) he is also a respected translator of Spanish, French, Italian and Latin poetry, including Dante's Purgatorio.

Merwin is probably best known for his poetry about the Vietnam War, and can be included among the canon of Vietnam War-era poets which includes such luminaries as Robert Bly, Adrienne Rich, Denise Levertov, Robert Lowell, Allen Ginsberg and Yusef Komunyakaa. In 1998, Merwin wrote Folding Cliffs: A Narrative, an ambitious novel-in-verse about Hawaiian history and legend.

Merwin's early subjects were frequently tied to mythological or legendary themes, while many of the poems featured animals, which were treated as emblems in the manner of William Blake. A volume called The Drunk in the Furnace (1960) marked a change for Merwin, in that he began to write in a much more autobiographical way. The title-poem is about Orpheus, seen as an old drunk. 'Where he gets his spirits / it's a mystery', Merwin writes; 'But the stuff keeps him musical'. Another powerful poem of this period is 'Odysseus', which reworks the traditional theme in a way that plays off poems by Stevens and Graves on the same topic.

In the 1960s Merwin began to experiment boldly with metrical irregularity. His poems became much less tidy and controlled. He played with the forms of indirect narration typical of this period, a self-conscious experimentation explained in an essay called 'On Open Form' (1969). The Lice (1967) and The Carrier of Ladders (1970) remain his most influential volumes. These poems often used legendary subjects (as in 'The Hydra' or 'The Judgment of Paris') to explore highly personal themes.

In Merwin's later volumes, such as The Compass Flower (1977), Opening the Hand (1983), and The Rain in the Trees (1988), one sees him transforming earlier themes in fresh ways, developing an almost Zen-like indirection. His latest poems are densely imagistic, dream-like, and full of praise for the natural world. He has lived in Hawaii since the 1970s, and one sees the influence of this tropical landscape everywhere in the recent poems, though the landscape remains emblematic and personal. Migration (Copper Canyon Press, 2005) won the 2005 National Book Award for poetry. A life-long friend of James Wright, Merwin's elegy to him appears in the 2008 volume From the Other World: Poems in Memory of James Wright.

The Shadow of Sirius, published in 2008 by Copper Canyon Press, was awarded the 2009 Pulitzer Prize for poetry.

William Stanley Merwin's Works:

Poetry - collections
1952: A Mask for Janus, New Haven, Connecticut: Yale University Press; awarded the Yale Younger Poets Prize, 1952 (reprinted as part of The First Four Books of Poems, 1975)[5]
1954: The Dancing Bears, New Haven, Connecticut: Yale University Press (reprinted as part of The First Four Books of Poems, 1975)[5]
1956: Green with Beasts, New York: Knopf (reprinted as part of The First Four Books of Poems, 1975)[5]
1960: The Drunk in the Furnace, New York: Macmillan (reprinted as part of The First Four Books of Poems, 1975)[5]
1963: The Moving Target, New York: Atheneum[5]
1966: Collected Poems, New York: Atheneum[5]
1967: The Lice, New York: Atheneum
1969: Animae, San Francisco: Kayak[5]
1970: The Carrier of Ladders, New York: Atheneum;[5] awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry in 1971)
1970: Signs, illustrated by A. D. Moore; Iowa City, Iowa: Stone Wall Press[5]
1973: Writings to an Unfinished Accompaniment, New York: Atheneum[5]
1975: The First Four Books of Poems, containing A Mask for Janus, The Dancing Bears, Green with Beasts, and The Drunk in the Furnace, New York: Atheneum; (reprinted in 2000, Port Townsend, Washington: Copper Canyon Press)[5]
1977: The Compass Flower, New York: Atheneum[5]
1978: Feathers From the Hill, Iowa City, Iowa: Windhover[5]
1982: Finding the Islands, San Francisco: North Point Press[5]
1983: Opening the Hand, New York: Atheneum[5]
1988: The Rain in the Trees, New York: Knopf[5]
1988: Selected Poems, New York: Atheneum[5]
1993: The Second Four Books of Poems, Port Townsend, Washington: Copper Canyon Press
1993: Travels: Poems, New York: Knopf[5] winner of the 1993 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize[7]
1996: The Vixen: Poems, New York: Knopf[5]
1997: Flower and Hand: Poems, 1977-1983 Port Townsend, Washington: Copper Canyon Press[5]
1998: The Folding Cliffs: A Narrative, a "novel-in-verse" New York: Knopf[11]
1999: The River Sound: Poems, New York: Knopf[5]
2001: The Pupil, New York: Knopf[5]
2005: Migration: New and Selected Poems, awarded the National Book Award for Poetry in 2005; Port Townsend, Washington: Copper Canyon Press[5]
2005: Present Company, Port Townsend, Washington: Copper Canyon Press[5]
2008: The Shadow of Sirius, (awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry in 2009; Port Townsend, Washington: Copper Canyon Press)[12]

"Alba" The New Yorker 84/35 (3 November 2008) : 86

Poems by William Stanley Merwin

Poet of the day

Born in 1714 in Halesowen (now Worcestershire) England living at the family home 'The Leasowes'. Halesowen, which, up to the early years of the 18th century was in part of Shropshire. He was educated at Solihull Grammar School, where he met and became firm friends with the future poet Richard...

Poem of the day

Jeg saae kun tilbage. Mig Livets Lyst bortklang;
Da toned mig i Sjælen saa trøstelig en Sang;
See frem, men ei tilbage! Hvad Hjertet attraaer,
Maaskee dog engang under Solen du naaer.

Lad Bølger bortrulle! lad Løvet flagre hen!
Rask bruser dog Strømmen, frisk Skoven staaer...